What's a mako shark?

The shortfin mako shark is a fairly large species of shark living in tropical and warm-temperate oceans, common in the western Atlantic and possibly the central Pacific. The shortfin mako is on record as the fastest-swimming shark, capable of bursts of speed up to 18.8 metres per second