What's a red flash apple?

Apples with red flesh inside (as well as out) occur naturally in some regions of Central Asia — basically crabapples. Breeders have been working 20 years to cross them with sweeter white-fleshed apples. They have not yet made it into the US produce aisle but some are available in Europe.