What is an example of an idiom?

"Don't look a gift horse in the mouth." is a common idiom. It means when a horse was bought, its health was determined by the health of its teeth. The saying "Don't look a gift horse in the mouth" meant don't be critical of the gifts given. Instead, be thankful.