How can a bar model be used to show a subtraction problem?

A bar model represents the parts of a whole and their relative sizes. In a subtraction problem like10 minus 5, the bar would represent 10, one part would represent 5 and another part would represent the unknown value. The goal then would be to fill in the value of the unknown part.