What were the corn laws in england?

The Corn Laws were a set of British protectionist laws that existed between 1815 to 1846 that were designed to protect domestic agriculture and wheat production from foreign competition. The Corn Laws placed tariffs and trade restrictions on foreign wheat and food imports resulting in higher prices.