Was mary ingalls blind?

Mary Ingalls lost her sight when she was 14, in 1879

---

Mary Ingalls did indeed lose her sight when she was 14, in 1879. Here's the line from the "Little House" novel "By the Shores of Silver Lake": "Mary and Carrie and baby Grace and Ma all had scarlet fever. Far worst of all, the fever had settled in Mary's eyes and Mary was blind."