What is considered bad air quality?

The Air Quality Index (AQI) is a scale that measures daily air quality. The AQI scale range is 0-500. An AQI value of 151-200 is considered unhealthy. An AQI value of 201-300 is considered very unhealthy. When the AQI reaches above 300, the air quality is considered hazardous.