What makes chocolate?

Chocolate is made by grinding up processed cacao beans. Sweetener and cocoa butter is added, and carefully mixed by a process called conching. It is then poured on to a marble slab to undergo another mixing process known as tempering. When it is thickened enough it is then put in a mold and cooled.