How long should you grill salmon for?

Salmon cooks quickly on the grill, usually no more than 12 minutes total. The salmon will be medium-rare when an instant read thermometer inserted into the thickest portion reads 120 degrees F. Let it rest for a few minutes before serving to allow for some carryover cooking.