What were flappers in the nineteen twenties?

According to History.com, 1920s Flappers were young women embracing a free and energetic lifestyle viewed by many at the time as outrageous. Now considered the first generation of independent American women, flappers pushed barriers in economic, political and sexual freedom for women.