Why do they call marines leathernecks?

from u s m c press.com. The nickname Leatherneck originated from a wide and stiff leather neck-piece that was part of the Marine Corps uniform from 1798 until 1872. This collar had two purposes. In com bat it protected the neck and jugular vein. On parade, it kept a Marine's head erect.