What is a bidets toilet for?

According to Wikipedia, a bidet is a bowl or receptacle designed to be sat on in order to wash one's genitalia, inner buttocks, and anus. The bidet is designed to promote personal hygiene and is used after defecation, and before and after sexual intercourse.