Why is it called india pale ale?

It was too hot in India for the British Empire to brew beer. So in 1780s, a London brewer sent out a strong, heavily hopped beer to India over a grueling six-month journey. The beer aged like wine, and improved immeasurably. Hence this type of pale ale is called India Pale Ale.