Why doesn't parchment paper catch on fire?

Parchment paper is heat-resistant. It can stand up to very high heats. That is because it is treated with silicone, which not only makes it non-stick but makes it stand up to very high temperatures. This fact leads people to make a common erroneous statement about it: Parchment paper will not burn.