How do you craft a crossbow?

The crossbow was a Roman weapon that fell out of favor and was later readopted in the medieval era. Construction is complex, but William Gurstelle explains the step-by -step process in his 2017 article "How to Build a Medieval Crossbow" at Popular Science.