Why do cats run sideways?

It usually begins with a fluffed-up tail and all four legs stretched taut. Then, the cat will arch its back, turn its body sideways, and bounce toward you or whoever may be the "target." Keep in mind that the sideways hop is rarely an aggressive maneuver, but you are expected to play along.