What does the acronym shield stand for?

Shield, in the Marvel world today, stands for Strategic Homeland, Intervention, Enforcement, and Logistics Division. It also once stood for Strategic Hazard Intervention Espionage Logistics Directorate, and before that, Supreme Headquarters, International Espionage, Law-Enforcement Division.