What is liquid smoke flavoring?

A lot of flavor comes from a fire of slightly green wood burning at a low temperature. It is possible to capture and condense that smoke then dissolve the smoke in water or alcohol. Poured on meat it will impart much of the flavor of slow wood smoking of the meat.