Who is the elf in lord of the rings?

There are numerous elves in the books. Legolas is the one who travels with the fellowship to destroy the One Ring, but there is Galadriel and the entire kingdom of Lothlorien, and the elves that assist the fellowship from Rivendell, including Elrond Half-Elven and all his kin.