What is the yom kippur holiday?

Translated as 'day of atonement,' Yom Kippur is the most solemn of Jewish religious holidays, Jews come together to fast, reflect, and repent; to take stock of their actions in the past year, seek forgiveness, and commit to doing better in the year to come.