How long can raw chicken be left in the fridge?

According to the USDA and U.S. Food and Drug Administration, raw chicken (regardless of if it’s whole; in pieces or ground) should be stored for no longer than one to two days in the refrigerator. If the chicken was previously frozen, this timeline goes into effect after the meat is fully defrosted.