Why is mustard called mustard?

Mustard is one of the worlds oldest condiments, dating back to early Roman cooks, who combined ground mustard seeds with an unfermented grape juice called must to make the hot paste mustum ardens. This was shortened to merely "mustard" when the condiment arrived in the English speaking world.