How many people are in super smashbros ultimate?

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate's slogan was "Everyone is here." And if you look at the final roster, that promise 89 playable characters, representing 43 distinct game series. And that's not even counting the stages, Mii Costumes, Assist Trophies, Spirits, and music tracks.