How do onions get salmonella?

Onions can become contaminated at any point in the food supply chain — while growing in the fields, during processing or distribution or when they're being prepared in a restaurant or home. On the Oct 2021, a salmonella outbreak from contaminated red onions caused more than 1,000 infections.