Why do dogs chew on things?

For young dogs, chewing is a way of exploring surroundings and a way to relieve pain that might be caused by incoming teeth. For older dogs, it's a natural way of keeping jaws strong and teeth clean. Chewing also combats boredom and can relieve mild anxiety or frustration.