What is a gregory?

A Gregory can mean someone who is educated in the topic of theology. In Latin, the name Gregorius has been in use for well over 1,500 years. The name was adopted by early Christians heedful of the Biblical passage located in 1 Peter 5:8, “Be sober-minded; be watchful.