What's the difference between a jam and a sweet potato?

Yams and sweet potatoes are two different root vegetables. Yams have tough brownish skin and are starchy and not sweet in flavor. Sweet potatoes usually have orange or red skin and a sweet flavor. After cooking the textures of the two vegetables differ, and sweet potatoes come in other colors

---

Yams are a monocot (a plant having one embryonic seed leaf) and from the Dioscoreaceae or Yam family. Sweet Potatoes, often called 'yams', are a dicot (a plant having two embryonic seed leaves) and are from the Convolvulacea or morning glory family.