Why is it called the union jack?

One definition of jack is a small flag flown at the bow of a ship indicating nationality. The flag of the United Kingdom, the union flag joins together the red cross of St. George of England, the white saltire of St. Andrew for Scotland, and the red saltire of St. Patrick representing Ireland.