Who invented the world cup?

Along with the Olympics, the World Cup is the biggest sporting event in the world. A Roman Catholic, Jules Rimet, under the inspiration of Pope Leo XIII, founded the World Cup “that brought warring nations together.” The FIFA World Cup was first held in 1930.