Why do we forget dreams?

Dreams occur during rapid eye movement, or R E M sleep. In the last stage of R E M sleep, neurons in the hippocampus become active, releasing melanin-concentrating hormone (MCH). This appears to be a process of "active forgetting". It may occur to keep our brains from being overloaded