What is correct caramel or caramel?

The pronunciation is generally “KARR-mel” or “KARR-mul”, with both being understood. Because ‘caramel’ and ‘Carmel’ are obviously spelled differently, it would seem that they would not be homophones. However “KAR-muhl” is actually an accepted pronunciation of ‘caramel’.