What's the deadliest tsunami ever?

The most devastating and deadliest tsunami recorded is known as the 2004 Indian Ocean earthquake and tsunami: aka Boxing Day Tsunami. On December 26, 2004, an undersea megathrust earthquake registering a magnitude of 9.3, created a tsunami, and killing nearly 227,900 people in 14 countries.

---

The deadliest tsunami was in the Indian Ocean in 2004 that killed at least 230,000 people in 14 countries.