When was the pride flag invented?

The artist Glibert Baker created the first pride flag in 1978 for the San Francisco Gay Freedom Day. The original version had eight color bars, but this was reduced to six the following year.

---

The pride flag was created in 1978 by gay designer and political activist Gilbert Baker. On our streets, at our parades, even on our clothing, the rainbow flag has become a worldwide symbol of LGBTQ pride.