Is a baby born every eight seconds?

According to the United Nations World Population Prospects report, a baby is born in the US approximately every 8 seconds. According to UNICEF, there are approximately 16 million babies born every year in China. There are 31,536,000 seconds per year which means there is 1 baby born every 2 seconds

---

In the year 2021, 3659289 children were born. This means on average every 8.61 seconds a baby was brought into this world. In reality the births are not distributed in a linear fashion, meaning there might be hours, days, or months with a lot of births, or less births than usual.