Is it true that hot water freezes faster than cold water?

It seems hot water does freeze slightly faster than cold water under a wide range of circumstances. It has been seen to occur in a number of experiments. But despite claims often made by one source or another, there is no well-agreed explanation for how this phenomenon occurs.

---

This is only true under certain very narrow circumstances, such as if you have a very large surface area, like washing a car with hot water on a very cold day. Otherwise, it is a myth, not true.