What is a ten thirty one exchange in real estate?

A ten thirty one exchange gets its name from Section 1031 of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code, which allows you to avoid paying capital gains taxes when you sell an investment property and reinvest the proceeds within certain time limits in a property of the same kind and equal or greater value