How does pikachu speak?

Part of the reason Detective Pikachu can talk to Tim (whose father was Harry Goodman) is that Tim's dad Harry is Pikachu. This twist is revealed in the movie, when we find out that Mewtwo placed Harry's soul inside Pikachu. Meowth is one of the only Pokémon who is able to speak to humans