How many cups of water a day should a person drink?

Health authorities commonly recommend women drink 11 cups of water and men drink 15 cups of water a day.

---

Mayo Clinic says, "the U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine determined that an adequate daily fluid intake is about 15.5 cups of fluids a day for men and about 11.5 cups of fluids a day for women."