Does wine make you constipated?

Dehydration caused by alcohol can contribute to constipation because the body needs water for stool to absorb. Drinks over 15 percent have an inhibitory effect on gastrointestinal motility. On the other hand, consumption of red wine may result in increases in compounds that can cause a IBD flare-up.