What is a catalpa worm?

Catalpa worms are the larval stage of catalpa sphinx moths . Called Catalpa because the female sphinx moth lays eggs in clusters on the undersides of catalpa leaves, the worms that emerge typically have black and yellow bodies and an abdominal horn. They can be used for bait when fishing for Bass.