What's the difference between butter and cheese?

The addition of rennet. Butter is whole milk that has had the whey separated from the fat globules, and then formed and salted to make butter. There are no other ingredients. Cheese is made from milk, but has rennet to make curds, which are then pressed into forms and aged.