Was robert e. lee a hero?

Although he was a hero in the mexican american war; Robert E. Lee was offered the command of the entire Union army, but instead resigned his commission as an officer in the U.S. Army and fought against the United States. Robert e Lee ultimately was not a hero to his country, but a traitor.