What makes fireworks?

Black powder explodes when ignited. Sulfur flows over potassium nitrate and charcoal, which then burn. This combustion produces a large amount of energy and gas and explodes. The reaction launches the firework in the air and ignites the effects, like color, into a pattern in the sky.