How long does it take for a snowflake to hit the ground?

Approximately 45 minutes. In a typical winter storm, snowflakes begin their descent from a cloud layer about ten thousand feet above the ground. Assuming an average fall speed of 3.5 feet per second, a snowflake would take more than 45 minutes to reach Earth.