Who is professor oak?

Professor Oak, also known as Professor Samuel Oak, is the premier pokemon professor in the Kanto region and possibly in the world of Pokemon. He gives you your starter pokemon in Pokemon red, yellow, blue, green, fire red, leaf green, and Let's go Pikachu and Eevee at the beginning of the game.