How is earwax created?

Specialized glands in the skin of the outer half of the ear canal secrete wax into the ear canal. Some of the functions are lubrication of the skin of the canal, assisting in cleaning foreign debris from the ear canal, and protection against invasion of the skin by bacteria and fungi.