How do you tell if a lizard is male or female?

Males are more swollen at the base of the tail than females and have a pair of enlarged scales near their vent (cloaca). Females and juveniles have some color, but not nearly as bright. Even if you can't get a look at the lizard's belly, there are also behavior clues that help reveal gender.