Who is flimflam?

The movie "The Flim Flam Man" starred George C. Scott as the main character, a traveling con artist in the south. The movie was made in the 1960's. Also starring Henry Morgan, Michael Sarrazin. Good fun movie and George C. Scott is terrific.