What country is called drop?

Sri Lanka has also been termed “The tear drop of India” because of the tear drop shape of the island and its proximity to India. It has also been called “The Pearl of the Indian Ocean.” As homage to its friendly people, Sri Lanka also enjoys being called “The nation of smiling people”.