How do i break a habit?

Interrupting the Pattern is an effective technique. Notice the emotions, thoughts, and behaviors that trigger the habit. When the bad habit begins to take its course, find a way to interrupt the emotions that trigger it. For example, smile and take a deep belly breath instead of doing the habit.